The Meadows Public School

A vibrant and caring learning community

Telephone02 9631 3737

Emailthemeadows-p.school@det.nsw.edu.au

School History

Our school motto is “Endeavour to Succeed”

 

The Meadows Public School, located in Fuller Street, Seven Hills is a dynamic and progressive centre of education providing students with a challenging curriculum and a wide range of cultural, social and sporting activities. Established in 1890, The Meadows is one of the oldest and continuous schools in the Blacktown area. The school has a comprehensively stocked library and a connected learning classroom. All classrooms are air-conditioned.

The Meadows name originated from the Shepherds Meadows Estate, on which the school is situated.

As early as 10th May, 1889 an application was received to establish a school at The Meadows, with 14 parents representing 34 children. The area was two to three miles from neighbouring schools and the accommodation at these schools was fully taken up. The settlement in the area was also increasing because of the sub-division of The Meadows Estate.

On 26th June, 1889 the Minister approved the establishment of the school, but because of lack of funds building was delayed. In February 1890, tenders were called and on 8th April, 1890 a tender was accepted.

The school building was constructed of wood 26 feet by 14 feet, with an iron roof, enclosed verandah and hat room and a toilet. There was seating accommodation for 20 pupils and air space for 36. The contract was completed on 23rd October, 1890.

By 1897 the building was inadequate and a brick building was erected. This building had seating accommodation for 172 pupils. This building is still in use today.

The Meadows School celebrated its Centenary in 1990.